The draw for the 2023 provincial football championships will take place on RTÉ Radio 1 this Saturday and will be streamed live online at RTÉ.ie/Sport and the RTÉ News app.


The four provincial draws will begin on Saturday Sport after 4 p.m.

Due to the round-robin format that leads to provincial finals, no draws are required in hurling.


Because provincial championships are not inherently linked to qualifying for the latter stages of the inter-county season, the Allianz Football League will have a say in the All-Ireland series.


The results of the provincial games, as well as league standings, will determine which teams advance to compete for the Sam Maguire Cup and which are relegated to the Tailteann Cup.




Connacht’s quarter-finals will feature pre-determined pairings of New York vs. Leitrim and London vs. Sligo, as well as two from Galway, Mayo, and Roscommon.



Last year’s semi-finalists Dublin, Kildare, Meath, and Westmeath get a bye to the quarter-finals, while Carlow, Laois, Longford, Louth, Offaly, Wexford, and Wicklow get byes as well.

The Leinster council has in recent years postponed the semi-final draw until after the quarter-finals.

This practise will be phased out in 2023.


Limerick and Kerry, last season’s finalists, will be seeded to the semi-finals in Munster.


Fermanagh and Tyrone will receive byes to the quarter-finals because they were drawn in this year’s preliminary round, as will the 2021 preliminary round pairing of Donegal and Tyrone.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *